12 July 2013

The 2013 International Street Paper Awards: The Finalists

The finalists of the 2013 ‘International Street Paper Awards’ were announced today. The awards were launched in 2008 by INSP, to highlight the outstanding, independent editorial achievements of street papers; and their contribution to social justice.

The awards are held every second year as part of INSP’s annual conference. This year, the ceremony will take place in Munich on 1st August, where winners in nine awards categories will be presented with hand-made made awards created by Glasgow Wood Recycling – a social enterprise that offers volunteering and training as a way of tackling poverty and social exclusion.

This year, for the first time, two new awards categories will also recognise street papers for their effectiveness as social enterprises and their work in supporting homeless people.

This year's call for entries received a record number of entries – 191 in total, from 51 different street papers in 25 countries. The range of finalists are a demonstration of the diversity of the global street paper network:

Best Feature Story – Writing for social impact

Best Cover – Making a statement on the street
  • 'Next Stop Referendum—Scotland’s Road to Independenc'e by Andreas Böhm & Dr. Frieder Schwitzgebel, Die Jerusalëmmer (Germany)
  • 'The Standl's by Niko Schmid-Burgk, BISS (Germany)
  • 'Face to Face' by Lisa Mansfield, The Big Issue Australia
  • 'Water. Will there be enough for everyone?' by Branko Bobic, LICEULICE (Serbia)
  • 'The Bitterest Pill' by Kevin Gopal (editor) & Mark Wheeler (designer), The Big Issue in the North (UK)
Click here to view category

Best Interview – A spotlight on change-makers 

Best Photograph – Evoking deeper perspectives on poverty and injustice

  • 'In the Bathtub' by Helga C. Theilgaard, Hus Forbi (Denmark)
  • 'The war on hot sand' by Dimitri Koutsomytis, =Norge (Norway)
  • ‘Brosteinsball’ by Mari Vold, Sorgenfri (Norway)
  • 'Happiness is all around us' by Томислав Георгиев, Lice v lice (Macedonia)
  • 'Yemen's Unseen' by Ziryab Al-Ghabri, The Big Issue South Africa
Click here to view category

Best Vendor Essay – A fresh perspective from the street

Best Design – Effecting change through visual content
  • 'Hot!' by Berhnhard Kerbl & Tina Knoll (Erdgeschoss GmbH), Megaphon (Austria)
  • 'Christmas book 2012' by Dimitri Koutsomytis, Anlov Peter Mathiesen and Svein Johan Reisang, =Norge (Norway)
  • '2012 Collector's Edition' by Dirk Meerkotter, The Big Issue South Africa
  • 'The Diamond Jubilee Edition' by Mark Neil / The Big Issue UK design team, The Big Issue UK
  • '2012 Christmas Edition' by Berit Burmester, Megafon (Norway)
Click here to view category

Social Development Award – Innovation in vendor support 

     * Special mentions in this category go to BISS and Nota Bene

Social Enterprise Award – Business success for social good

Special Award for External Press – Advocating for the needs and rights of homeless people 

Entries were shortlisted by expert panels of journalists, academics, writers, designers and photographers. A high-profile panel of media and publishing experts, led by INSP’s Honorary President David Schlesinger, then selected winners in the seven editorial categories.

The judging of the ‘Social Enterprise’ and ‘Social Development’ categories was supported by PwC - a leading supporter of social enterprise in the UK.

INSP Executive Director Lisa Maclean said: “The International Street Paper Awards are a real celebration of the diversity of our member street papers around the world. Street paper editors, journalists, designers and photographers work hard every day to report on important issues and create first-class magazines and newspapers for their vendors to sell. It’s great to have the opportunity to celebrate and award these efforts and remind the world what street papers are there to do.

“This year, we are honoured to have had the support of an incredible panel of expert judges, who have dedicated many hours to reading entries and debating and selecting finalists and winners. We are very grateful for their support and expertise."

The winners will be announced by press release immediately after the awards ceremony.